Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Info for 1st Saltwater Tank
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tim McDonnell
Regulars

PostPosted: 2004.02.03(Tue)18:26    Post subject: Info for 1st Saltwater Tank Reply with quote

Hello,
I am a beginner to Saltwater aquariums. I have always admired them. I know that they can cost a lot depending on the equipment selection and if you want to sustain a good marine enviroment. I know I do but I do not have a lot of money right know. So my questons are:

What is the minimum requirement size aquarium for a saltwater tank Question
What is the best filter to use Question
What lighting should be used Question (I would not like live coral or rock) ETC...
What does a protein skimmer do and would it be good to have Question

Generally, just anything would be helpful, Thanks Exclamation
Agent Smith
Regulars

PostPosted: 2004.02.03(Tue)23:02    Post subject: Re: Info for 1st Saltwater Tank Reply with quote

Tim McDonnell wrote:

What is the minimum requirement size aquarium for a saltwater tank Question

its best to go as big as you can afford. 55 is fairly good but it dosnt cost that much more to set up a 75 because they have roughly the same foot print.
Quote:

What is the best filter to use Question

pinning down a best in any thing is difficult. but live rock, a sand bed and maby a skimmer work very well. sumps can be very help ful to add extra valume w/o impacting the foot print. keep in mind that excess biological filtration can lead to nitrAte problems. natrual reefs are very nutriant poor.

Quote: