Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
First Saltwater tank
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Avalanche
New Members

PostPosted: 2004.01.29(Thu)22:16    Post subject: First Saltwater tank Reply with quote

Hello everyone, I've been keeping fish for about 2 years now and have finally made my first steps towards a salt water tank. I plan on getting a brand spankin new 29gal (US) tank w/ live rock and live sand. Then I'll probably put about a dozen turbo snails, 6 or so red hermits, and for fish.. I've been eyeing 2 little spotted Damsels (forgot the correct name, but they are the ones that are black with white spots), and 2 faulse clowns. Please tell me if this is overstocked for a beginner. But the thing that I am most stuck on is what type of filtration would be most appropriate for my set-up? I've been looking at DIY wet/dry trickle filters, or would maybe even just a skimmer since the live rock? Please, I need your help! Laughing Thanks a bunch!
Avalanche
New Members

PostPosted: 2004.01.29(Thu)22:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ohh I also forgot to ask... Is there any books that I should got check out at my LFS? Very Happy
Agent Smith
Regulars

PostPosted: 2004.01.29(Thu)23:23    Post subject: Reply with quote

what about lighting? for a 29, 2 55 to 65 watt CF's would be ideal if you wish to keep most moderate corals. however, NO flourscent(s) would be fine if its FOWLR.