Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Sri Lankan and 30 planted
 Forum Index > Photo Album  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ophie
Advisors

PostPosted: 2003.03.05(Wed)22:39    Post subject: Sri Lankan and 30 planted Reply with quote

These are both fairly new tanks.

This is my little five gallon Sri Lankan biotope. Things are slow-growing in there, but hopefully one day the crypts will take over. That's the whole point.
I'm still learning how to photograph it.

And, this is my 30 breeder, planted. Sorry the picture is bad. You get the idea. Probably doesn't look much different than the last time I posted it months ago. But the hairgrass is growing in, and I've rearranged stuff. It's gotten CF lights. Still no CO2-- that's why changes are so slow.

Inhabitants:
rasbora pauciperforata (red-line rasbora)
pseudosphromenus? dayi (spike-tailed paradise fish)
checkered barbs (don't remember the scientific)
otos
japonica shrimp
PharCyde
Regulars

PostPosted: 2003.03.06(Thu)2:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

While scientific names are good, they're not THAT important (except for cichlids)
Checkered Barb - puntius oligolepis
Oto - Otocinclus affinis normally

I like your tanks, grrreat jooob.

First picture (image sorry) is very dramatic with all the different angles of the driftwood, mixes it up a bit. Is that algae on the wood going top left to bottome right and on the left? If it is, I got that as well.

The second image is jealousy creating hehehe. Like the Anubius and small leaved plants on right, promotes contrast. Howd you get that tree stump at the back?
Brobro
Regulars