Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
SuperStand! question on weight load
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
gi4get
New Members

PostPosted: 2003.08.28(Thu)9:04    Post subject: SuperStand! question on weight load Reply with quote

woodier than a lodgepole pine! more attractive than anything else on the shelf! it's SuperStand!! the question is....can it hold the weight?

I'm a college student planning on buying a 20 gal. H once I move back into the dorm. I love the stands at most pet shops but don't love the price. I've found a very attractive low stand at Target for half the cost of other stands. There's a little excess of L and W so I'm not worried about size. It was built as a tv stand so I know it can hold atleast that much. However, water's heavy and I'm worried my inexpensive stand won't be able to deal with 160+ lbs.

If it's not stated on the box, how can I tell the weight capacity of a stand? If this stand doesn't cut it, is there any way to boost the its support? Would I be better off dropping 50-80 bucks on a pet store stand? * question...question*

Advanced thanks for the help
Choice Words
Regulars

PostPosted: 2003.08.28(Thu)10:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too, searched for some tank stands that I could also utilize as storage (ie small stacking cabinets) They didn't have a weight limit posted, but I trusted them to hold and they are (10gallons). However, I was shopping for the most inexpensive. They were $22 and I wish I had spent the extra 8$ to get a slightly better quality. I was assuming they had backs, and they don't, only cardboard.