Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics
 
  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Change substrate?
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fishhead5
New Members


Joined: 26 Aug 2003

PostPosted: 2003.08.26(Tue)5:39    Post subject: Change substrate? Reply with quote

I have a well established 20 gallon and have had some problems with new cory's making it. How often do you need to change substrate? I clean tank every two weeks with vacumn. Since all but bottom dwellers are doing fine, I'm curious about substrate changes, since I never see any info on this. Water test great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trill the man
Regulars


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Location: Daventry, Northants, England

PostPosted: 2003.08.26(Tue)5:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmmmmmmm, strange one. The substrate is usually only changed when the aquarist fancies a change, or if it contains fertilizer such as flourite, which eventually runs out of nuitrients.
May I ask what your substrate consists of? Changing substrate in an already setup tank is a tricky procedure.

Phil Wink
_________________
"Donald duck never wore pants, but when he gets out of a bath, he covers his waist with a towel...."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Fishhead5
New Members


Joined: 26 Aug 2003

PostPosted: 2003.08.26(Tue)6:01    Post subject: Reply with quote

Substrate is just standard natural colored gravel I bought at the pet store. Small pebbles/river rock looking, but pebble size. I vacumn the stuff out of it about every 2 weeks, and always have good water before and after change. Maybe the fish are just stressing on the trip from the pet store. The cory's aren't new to the store, they've been there awhile. I did everything right on transport and introducing into tank, floated them in bag for awhile, etc. Was just thinking that since they're cory's and toxins usually start at bottom I've heard, maybe its the substrate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gunrunner
New Members


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Location: UK

PostPosted: 2003.08.26(Tue)7:59    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ,

sorry to butt in like this , but Cory's prefer sand or very small gravel (1-3 mm in size) in which they can forage for food , if the substrate is too large the food will fall through the gaps , resulting in the Cory's not getting any . Just a thought , though , How many Cory's are you buying at a time ? , because Cory's like to be in groups , not on their own !( although someone will probably post telling you that their single cory is doing fine no doubt ) Another thing to do with Cory's , is to feed them sinking food pellets , as the flake food given to normal fish will probably be eaten mid water , leaving the Cory's nothing . Hope this helps !

Gunrunner. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Irons
Moderators


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Location: Buffalo, NY

PostPosted: 2003.08.26(Tue)8:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have "creek bottom" peeble bottom in my 75. I have 5 corries that are having no trouble. I had one die of unknown cause. If the gravel is round and smooth I wouldn't worry about it being the substrate, espaically if syphon into the gravel.

You may want to make sure they are getting enough food. I suppliment mine once a week with algae waffers or shrimp pellets or brine shrimp that I make sure hits the bottom.
_________________
"... instead of considering what to say when they write, people now just let thoughts drool out onto the screen," - about e-mail
Irons.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Fishhead5
New Members


Joined: 26 Aug 2003

PostPosted: 2003.08.27(Wed)12:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for everyone's help! I do feed them sinking wafers, shrimp pellets. Had 4, to 3, now it looks like I'm losing another one. He appears to have gill disease. I started an anti-biotic a few days ago, Maracyn 2, and am about halfway into the treatment now. The thing that I find kind of funny about these guys is they are hovering at mid levels, and on top of rocks a lot. Most cory's stay on bottom. It's like they don't want to be on the bottom maybe. Who knows....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PharCyde
Regulars


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: 2003.08.28(Thu)4:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

This sounds like a topic that could be put into Disease and Disasters, as the substrate probably isn't the cause for the catfish problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment All times are GMT - 6 Hours Search Board
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L