Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics
 
  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Osmocoat 28:1.8:14
 Forum Index > Plants and Planted Tanks  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PharCyde
Regulars


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: 2003.08.15(Fri)3:50    Post subject: Osmocoat 28:1.8:14 Reply with quote

I've found this Osmocoat fertiliser that has a NPK ratio of 28:1.8:14.However its water soluble which means you disolve it in water first so this would have to be added to the water, not the substrate. What do you think? To much nitrogen ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve Hampton
Moderators


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL

PostPosted: 2003.08.15(Fri)10:17    Post subject: Re: Osmocoat 28:1.8:14 Reply with quote

PharCyde wrote:
I've found this Osmocoat fertiliser that has a NPK ratio of 28:1.8:14.However its water soluble which means you disolve it in water first so this would have to be added to the water, not the substrate. What do you think? To much nitrogen ?


Possibly. What matters more though is the form of nitrogen it contains. If nitrogen is in any form other than nitrate you will likely have algae problems and if it's in the form of urea/ammonia/ammonium you may even cause fish health or death issues too. If it's 100% nitrate, then it may well be acceptable for NO3 additions, though it won't supply near enough potassium.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PharCyde
Regulars


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: 2003.08.15(Fri)21:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah its 22% urea and 2% from KNO3. If in the substrate would this be a problem still?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Steve Hampton
Moderators


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL

PostPosted: 2003.08.16(Sat)15:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

The safest way is to add it to the substrate when you are first setting up the tank. Here's a link with instructions that address using a rich substrate and specifically Osmocote enriched.

Adding Osmocote to the substrate

Others have mentioned introducing the Osmocote via clay balls. The Clay/Osmocote balls are pushed deep into the substrate near the plant roots.

Both methods need to be limited to slow growing tanks, or last least tanks that would require a minimal amount of substrate disturbance. Also of benefit would be a low pH so that any urea/ammonia would be released as less toxic ammonium...though ammonium is often accompanied by algae outbreaks.

So while I personally wouldn't use a fertilizer with urea, I do know that some are successful doing so, and if proper precautions are maintained it can be a longterm source of plant nutrients.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Plants and Planted Tanks All times are GMT - 6 Hours Search Board
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L