Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Help With a 20 Gallon
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bob_saget
New Members

PostPosted: 2003.07.20(Sun)4:19    Post subject: Help With a 20 Gallon Reply with quote

Hey everyone,

I am currently new to the saltwater scene, however I have been a fishkeeper for over 5 years now and I feel like a change. My 60 Gallon Freshwater tank is still going steady along with 2 smaller breading tanks for my Cichlids and their Fry.

My 20 Gallon tank currently holds just water hehe, but I am considering going to make it a saltwater tank whenever I get time.

Now a few Questions I need to know are:

1. What equipment may I need to start Saltwater, I already have the tank, heater, substrate, etc. But I have a freshwater filter (Whisper Power Filter). What filter would be adequate for a tank this size or could I just use the existing one?

2. How much will this cost me approximately? I.e in the hundreds

3. It is only 20 Gallons so what fish and possibly corals would be good for a tank of this size and how many?

Any help would be really appreciated. I am aware that it will be hard, but I am willing to learn about the saltwater side of fishkeeping:)

Can contact me via Email or Msn : Timmy_the_turtle_nofx@hotmail.com
karlas
Moderators

PostPosted: 2003.07.20(Sun)6:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well for your first question it could take me all day to answer but I have a great beginner site for you to get a lot of your info off of.

Reef Keeping 101

http://www.reefcorner.com/reef%20keeping_101.htm