Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Salt water newbie
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tommyz
New Members

PostPosted: 2003.05.30(Fri)14:44    Post subject: Salt water newbie Reply with quote

Hi all,

I've been keeping freshwater fish for 5 years now. I've kept everything from cichlids to lungfish, with great success. I want to start my first saltwater tank. I'm going to start with a fish only with a possibility of going reef in the future. I'm looking to start with a 75 gal tank, but will try to go bigger if possible. What type of filtration would you recommend? I originally planned to go with a wet dry system. Then was advised to go with live rock, a protein filter and deep sand bed. I want to keep hawaiian native fish, such as a flame angel, huma huma trigger, hawaiian cleaner wrasse etc. Any advice on how to start this tank would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Very Happy
SoS
Advisors

PostPosted: 2003.05.30(Fri)20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your going to have a fish only get the Wet-dry/protien skimmer.

If your going Reef get the liverock/Deepsand bed/protienskimmer/with sump and macroalgae.

You can combine the two and have very good filtration for either system.

What was this persons reason for you not getting a wet-dry? I'd like to hear it before I comment further.
tommyz
New Members

PostPosted: 2003.05.30(Fri)20:37    Post subject: saltwater newbie Reply with quote