Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
ecosystem-tank
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sol
New Members

PostPosted: 2003.05.05(Mon)6:07    Post subject: ecosystem-tank Reply with quote

Rolling Eyes Hi! Rolling Eyes
I' wondering about getting a salt water tank. I've had freshwater for about five years now, but I'm dreaming of a reef in my livingroom.

I've heard that it's possible to make a perfect ecosystem with corals, live rock invertebrates and fish, without feeding, filtering or waterchanges.
Only refilling of evaporated water.

I am a marine biologist, so I know most things of how an ecosystem works, but I wanted to know if anyone had ever heard of this or have experience with it.

I know that I must have great pacience when setting up this type of tank, and I have to use fish and invertabrates that are plankton feeders, and no carnivores. I will use schrimp for algae cleaning and corals/algae for watercleaning.

Any other tips?
Great forum, by the way... Lots of help to get whenever you need it. Very Happy
The Old Salt
Regulars

PostPosted: 2003.05.05(Mon)11:27    Post subject: Reply with quote

You heard wrong.

It's possible to make a system that requires FEW water changes and LITTLE feeding and MINIMAL filtration, but NONE?
Impossible, unless your talking about a system of several thousand
gallons in capacity.

I've seen & used ecosystem type aquariums, and they are amazing. I wouldn't do it any other way anymore. HOWEVER, they are still far from the maintenance-free wonders you may have imagined.

FILTRATION: