Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Greetings from a newbie in Taiwan!
 Forum Index > Introduction to this Community  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
RedMenace
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.05.01(Sun)12:26    Post subject: Greetings from a newbie in Taiwan! Reply with quote

Greetings all,

I'm a complete newbie to fishkeeping, but let me tell you, I'm hooked!

I bought my first tank nearly two months ago, it's a little 7 gallon (or so I believe), but I think I'm doing pretty well. The first few weeks were a real learning experience, I had to learn the hard way about cycling, but everything seems okay now.

I'm from because, Canada, but now I've been living and working in Taiwan for over 5 years. I've always thought aquariums were cool, but never been stable enough or motivated enough to actually go out and buy a setup. I finally did it, and now I want more!

It's been a little difficult for me figuring it all out, mostly because I'm a foreigner living in Taiwan. I went to a big fish shop near my house, and basically trusted that they would guide me through the process. Big mistake! They sold me nearly 20 fish for a little, uncycled tank! Over the next couple of weeks I recieved a crash course in the Nitrogen Cycle, larglely from this site that I just happened to stumble upon. I'm sure no one will be surprised that I had to deal with a few dead fish.