Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Want help on a fish only setup
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
LunarFlame
Regulars

PostPosted: 2005.05.01(Sun)8:44    Post subject: Want help on a fish only setup Reply with quote

Well, I looked at the Tank Of The Month, and it opened a whole new world to me. I didn't know that one could keep a salt water tank like that! (Yah I'm new to this).

So, I REALLY want to try my hand at a salt water, fish only tank. I don't know where to start though. Can someone point me in a good direction? Any sites that I could go to which are good for beginners?

I have either a 10 gallon, or a 29 gallon which I could start this project in.
What would you reccommend for a filter? Protien skimmer? UV Sterilizer?any specific brands?

I also have been looking at the fish on liveaquaria, which are for beginners, and getting ideas of fish and such there. I am not sure if there are salt water fish stores in the city, but I will be finding out soon. If they do not have salt water fish in the city, I will have to order my fish online. Is this a good idea? Or should I stay away altogether if I have to order online?

Thanks a ton!

Oh PS, I am interested mostly in getting a clownfish (the less agressive types), and possibly a fire goby if I can find them in my area..
would they be good?
Regulars

PostPosted: 2005.05.01(Sun)23:41    Post subject: Reply with quote