Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Pink fluff!?!
 Forum Index > Freshwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
alix
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.04.27(Wed)20:21    Post subject: Pink fluff!?! Reply with quote

Hey, I'm pretty new to this...anyways...I just looked at the back of my tank and
I saw what looks like a wad of pink cotton candy down on the gravel, about
1.5 inches in diameter?

...and I have no idea what it is...any help would be appreciated!
kjh90
Regulars

PostPosted: 2005.04.28(Thu)11:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why don't you just remove it, and see what it is? How big is your tank and what are the inhabitants?
LunarFlame
Regulars

PostPosted: 2005.04.28(Thu)12:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you have been over-feeding, and the food has begun to go moldy in the gravel.

What foods do you feed your fish? How much, and how many times a day?
Members

PostPosted: 2005.04.30(Sat)14:02    Post subject: take out the gravel Reply with quote

To get rid of this nasty "cotton candy", first, take out all the gravel. Clense it by putting it in a strainer and rinse it VERY thorougly with scalding hot water. By scalding, I mean steam rising from the gravel as you rinse. DON'T USE SOAP,FOR YOUR AMMONIA WILL GO UP AND YOUR FISH WILL DIE!!! Also, do a fifty per cent water change, also, rinse your decorations. If the stuff comes back, ask yourself these questions: Am a doing a water change at least once or twice a month? am I using proper filteration? I'm I overfeeding my fish?
The fungus should clear up. Good luck!
uLtRa
Regulars