Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Sick Betta help
 Forum Index > Diseases and Disasters  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DresFish
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.04.23(Sat)10:35    Post subject: Sick Betta help Reply with quote

I have been battling with a sick betta for a few months now. It started with some clear like bubbles on his tail fin. They are hard to describe, but it looks like a bubble, where it protrudes from each side. Then I started to see little white dots on this side fins. To boot, he has developed fin rot. I have looked everywhere online and I can not find a diagnosis to what those bubble like things are on his back fin (and now a few on his bottom fin) or the little white dots are. I can find NOTHING that even describes this. The white spots are only on his side fins (though this morning I think I might see one dot on his chin, which is making me panic).

He lives in a 10 gallon tank that I do keep cleaned. I am a beginner and have made a few mistakes, but I think I have it under control now what needs to be done when. I did have a bought with brown algae for a little while, if that helps with diagnosis.

I have tried (in this order)...
Ick treatment (as I originally thought it was ick)
Maroxy w/ maracyn 2
added salt to the tank
Maracyn 2
and I am currently using Jungle Fungus Eliminator

Each time I tried something, I thought it was helping for a small time. But really he's not gotten better. Nothing has helped with the bubble like spots on the tail. As a matter of fact, a lot of the fin rot has split his tail up to the bubbles, strangely. Fungus Eliminator is doing NOTHING.