Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Honey Gourami?? Male? Female? Do they look healthy?
 Forum Index > Photo Album  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
anthea
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.04.21(Thu)17:49    Post subject: Honey Gourami?? Male? Female? Do they look healthy? Reply with quote

hi everyone I am very new to this sport and have no idea if the fish are OK. they eat well seem to swim happy all day. I also have no idea if I have a male and female. I am guessing but have put some pics below for opinions. Doing water changed 20% per week, bit of an amonia problem but have sorted that now. Tank is 35 litres with one Betta and the 2 honeys
Male??

Female??
LunarFlame
Regulars

PostPosted: 2005.04.21(Thu)20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote

First one seems to be a male, the second a female..

jsut a few things though. Did you cycle your tak prior to adding fish?

As well, I'm not sure how compatible the betta will be with these guys, as they are all territorial.
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.04.22(Fri)0:18    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes the tank was cycled and the water tested every few days by the LFS . There are no issues with territory but I will keep watch
jynxy
Regulars

PostPosted: 2005.04.22(Fri)2:12    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Gourami killed my betta, so id watch them very closely! also the top pic looks like he has slight fin rot, id watch out for that also, it certainly doesn't look as healthy as the second one.

I took this peice out of an article I saw on the web, to find the diffrence between male and female......