Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
New 75gal Tank
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Troy24
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.04.18(Mon)11:51    Post subject: New 75gal Tank Reply with quote

Hello I'm new to the Salt water tank thing and was wondering what else I need and to to run it DO I really need a Protein skimmer? What I have now is two 301 Power heads and 1200 Aquaclear Filter going I got the sand in and am wanting to put Live rock in the Salinty reads 1.022-1.023 shoud I keep adding salt till it reaches the right spot?? and how long does it take for the salt water to become clear??? I have all this stuff that came w/ it and really don't think I need it all Please Help

Troy
juice28
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.04.18(Mon)12:56    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm...looks like you've got a few questions that need attention. First off, 1.022 is the right spot, no need to increase your salinity. By "cloudy water" what do you think is the source? Poor water quality? Likely it is just dust and debris from whatever substrate you chose to line the base of the tank with. It usually settles out in a few days, if it doesn't it might not be the source to begin with. Read up a lot about the cycling process if you haven't already, it is the first place that newcomers err in starting up a tank. You can never know too much on the matter.