Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics
 
  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Question regarding KH/GH
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nycfilipina
Regulars


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Location: Presently , Ft. Bragg NC

PostPosted: 2005.04.17(Sun)8:20    Post subject: Question regarding KH/GH Reply with quote

I finally was able to get a test to test for my KH/GH...
what does it mean for alkalinity being at 0 Embarassed
and hardness being at 75?
Is this the reason why my pH drops from tap 7.6 and when I test it in the tank it drops to 6.0? I was having that trouble with my 10g...my 37H stayed at 7.0 for a while now it's dropping to 6.8.....
any thoughts???
thank you
_________________
Half of my heart is in Iraq...
until you come home, I will pray for your safe return.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ozziegt
Members


Joined: 07 Mar 2005

PostPosted: 2005.04.17(Sun)11:22    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah without any buffering capacity your pH will fluctuate a lot. My LFS recommended a product from Seachem called Neutral Regulator. It claims to lower or raise the pH to 7.0, so you won't have any problems like you would with pH-up and pH-down chemicals. After I added this stuff my alkalinity went up to recommended levels (around 120). Just add the recommended dosage and check the pH again in 24 hours.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nycfilipina
Regulars


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Location: Presently , Ft. Bragg NC

PostPosted: 2005.04.17(Sun)13:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey thank you Ozziegt!!! One question....this is pertaining to a different question...I bought PRIME as my water conditioner...it says add 2 drops per 1US gallon...I have 37G , so I just add 6 drops?
It said if you were to add it directly to your tank to calcualte the tanks liters....I didn't know how many liters my tank is....so I just added a tsp full...is this okay?!?!?! Confused oR if anyone knows as well.....thank you
sorry Jumping to a whole different question.
_________________
Half of my heart is in Iraq...
until you come home, I will pray for your safe return.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ozziegt
Members


Joined: 07 Mar 2005

PostPosted: 2005.04.17(Sun)13:47    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well you probably can't overdose on it. 2 drops per gallon inn a 37g tank, that is 37x2 = 74 drops. When you change the water you only do 2 drops per gallon of water you are adding.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nycfilipina
Regulars


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Location: Presently , Ft. Bragg NC

PostPosted: 2005.04.17(Sun)15:04    Post subject: Reply with quote

I change the water using a python, so Would I dose the 74 drops directly to the tank? Sorry lol slow Embarassed
_________________
Half of my heart is in Iraq...
until you come home, I will pray for your safe return.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment All times are GMT - 6 Hours Search Board
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L