Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Instant Ocean
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MorayMan
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.03.21(Mon)17:46    Post subject: Instant Ocean Reply with quote

Hi I am new at this but For a 65 Gallon tank, How much Instant Ocean do I Use? It says 5G=1.5LBS. So Do I use 21Lbs of Instant Ocean? Its a brand New Tank
juice28
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.03.21(Mon)17:51    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm...I thought that stuff was 1/2 cup to a gallon of water, but I don't know for sure...
DanG
Members

PostPosted: 2005.03.21(Mon)20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

juice28 wrote:
Hmmm...I thought that stuff was 1/2 cup to a gallon of water, but I don't know for sure...

That's about what I use. When mixing, make sure to measure the SG of the water, it should be between 1.021 and 1.026, depending on the inhabitants.
robbyrob
Members

PostPosted: 2005.03.22(Tue)11:29    Post subject: Reply with quote

juice28 wrote:

thats what the box says......... I used that and the SG reading was right on the money for the 10gal.

Rob
Huntress
Moderators

PostPosted: 2005.03.22(Tue)14:40    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe you should see if 1/2 cup = 16 oz?
MarkLehr
Moderators

PostPosted: 2005.03.23(Wed)22:15    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look, this is the easy part of the hobby. MIxing the correct amount of salt really isn't that difficult, and needs to be correct. You shouldn't just guess at this part. Wink