Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
launching saltwater tank, please help
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
es032980
New Members

PostPosted: 2005.03.07(Mon)21:50    Post subject: launching saltwater tank, please help Reply with quote

hi, I'm a college student from orlando, florida. somebody in my apt complex moved out recently. they have upgraded tanks and left the old one behind. the maintenance men know I'm into fish because I have a 10 gallon and a 2 gallon in my apt. I've had my tanks since the 1st week of 2005 and was only using them to breeding bettas. thus far, I've attempted 2 spawns but only the second was productive - nearly 50 fry. well, the guys brought me the tank and here it sits next to me now. I've always wanted a nice big tank so I could take my shot at a saltwater aquarium. I'm not sure of its size - I suspect its 55 gallons. also, its very very dirty with green algae on most of its 4 sides of glass and what looks like corrosion up around the rim. across the bottom of the tank is about 3 maybe 4 inches of neutral colored gravel still barely covered by dirty shallow water. and then of course, theres the fishy smell. these are the questions I was hoping someone could help me out with:

1. how can I confirm the capacity of the tank?
2. whats the best way for me to really clean the old gravel to or should I trash it and get new gravel?
3. whats the best way for me to clean out the tank itself? the algae off the glass? and the build up of corrosion around the top?
4. when these issues have been taken care of can I deem my tank safe for fish?