Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics
 
  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
How to splice a CO2 line and air line
 Forum Index > Do It Yourself (DIY)  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
number6
Moderators


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: 2004.12.28(Tue)8:57    Post subject: How to splice a CO2 line and air line Reply with quote

I want CO2 and an air line to be spliced into one line. I use a power head to blast the bubbles down into the tank and with DIY CO2 I get very nice diffusion rate without any messing around. I would like to drop to one filter in the 60g tank. If I use a T connector, and put the air line into the T and point it up, the CO2 should flow into the tank and not up out the tube right?
CO2 being heavier than air, I need to think of it as a liquid right?

Thanks for the input.
_________________
Discus Man is gone... I remain... #6... I am not a number I am a free man!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rijac
Regulars


Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Location: singapore

PostPosted: 2004.12.28(Tue)11:18    Post subject: Reply with quote

not quite sure I know what you are saying... if I understand correctly you want to pump both co2 and air into your tank? the air bubbles will disperse your co2.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
number6
Moderators


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: 2004.12.28(Tue)11:40    Post subject: Reply with quote

rijac wrote:
not quite sure I know what you are saying... if I understand correctly you want to pump both co2 and air into your tank? the air bubbles will disperse your co2.....
that's exactly what I am doing, and it works. The air does not displace the CO2, at least not enough for me to care.
With CO2 into a powerhead, the pH drops to 6.6, with an air line into another power head, the pH reads 6.8
With no CO2 the pH reads 7.6

So I am getting good diffusion of CO2, I simply don't want two powerheads any longer.
Wondering how I would go about splicing the line and stopping the CO2 from heading out the end of the air line.
_________________
Discus Man is gone... I remain... #6... I am not a number I am a free man!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Do It Yourself (DIY) All times are GMT - 6 Hours Search Board
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L