Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Pond experiment question
 Forum Index > Goldfish, K  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SEVE

PostPosted: 2003.03.31(Mon)9:29    Post subject: Pond experiment question Reply with quote

I'd like to try something this summer and would like feedback from experienced Pond people. I'm a total Pond rookie and would like to try what I outlined below before I take the plunge into digging up the back yard.

I have an old kiddie wading pool (not sure how many gallons - about 5 feet across) that I would like to keep outside this summer (I live in Connecticut, USA). My plan would be to create some room in my tanks and put some White Cloud minnows and some Endler's Livebearers in there and see if I can get them to breed / just see what happens. (Endler's breed no problem in one of my 10 gallon tanks but no luck so far with the White Clouds).

I'm thinking of throwing some gravel on the bottom of the pool and putting in Java Moss and Anacharis. I'd like to keep the equipment to a minimum if possible.

What is the minimum I'll need to make this work? An air stone with frequent H2O changes?

Can I get away without and Air Stone and/or Filter?

Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks.
SherryNE
Moderators

PostPosted: 2003.03.31(Mon)19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would imagine it can be done with frequent water changes. See the above thread about fantails for info about baby pools.
Also, you'll need to keep it COOL....in the shade.
Psyfalcon
Regulars

PostPosted: 2003.03.31(Mon)21:36    Post subject: Reply with quote