Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Total Newbie - Advice Wanted
 Forum Index > Freshwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ibookguy
New Members

PostPosted: 2004.11.21(Sun)0:52    Post subject: Total Newbie - Advice Wanted Reply with quote

Hey all! I'm a total newbie and thrilled that I found this website! I haven't started yet - but I plan on purchasing my tank tomorrow. I'm looking at a 10g Aqua Culture Tank/Starter Kit (filter + light included) from Wal-Mart - $30. I don't want to start with anything big due to fear that I'll royally screw something up Sad So, I'm curious - once I purchase the tank, what all do I need to do and keep in mind? I've seen an article on fishless cycling here, but what else? I plan on purchasing some fake plants and extra stuff as well (fake rocks, etc.). Also, where is a good place to find testing kits (I'm in middle-of-nowhere Ohio - 1/2 hour to Lima, 1 hour to Dayton, 1 hour to Ft. Wayne IND., 2 hours to Columbus - so anything like a Wal-Mart, Meijer, Kroger, Petland would be best). Also - what are good starter fish? I don't have anything to particular in mind - other than I want something other than goldfish. I'd appreciate any advice/help I can get Smile

Thanks,
Eric
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Angry Cuttlefish
Members

PostPosted: 2004.11.21(Sun)1:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Eric,

Welcome to the hobby. I think you'll find that everyone here is pretty friendly and helpful.