Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Question about filters
 Forum Index > Marine Equipment and Chemistry  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
PorscheCAS
New Members

PostPosted: 2004.10.30(Sat)8:50    Post subject: Question about filters Reply with quote

I'm currently in the process of setting up my 55 gallon. I'm just getting into aquariums again after years and years of being out of it. my question is, what kind of filter do you think is the best? undergravel, canister, other. I heard that the Penguin 330 is a decent filter. any suggestions would be great. and I should say that affordability is important to me as well. thank you
adamprice271
Regulars

PostPosted: 2004.10.30(Sat)10:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am a big fan of canister filters. I use and Highly recomend the Rena Filstar XP series of canister filters. They work great, extremley quiet n(you can't even hear mine when it is in the cabinet uder the tank) and they are the cheapest canisters you will find. Check out BigAlsonline.com and they have the XP3 which is their biggest and most expensive for 87.99 I think, and it just gets cheaper.m I'd go with the XP2 for you. The penguin you are talking about is nice but not enough filtration for the size tank you have. Good luck

Adam
55g Community
75g. Reef tank (cycling)
135g. Needlenose gar, tiretrack eel tank
Gunnie
Regulars

PostPosted: 2004.10.30(Sat)15:24    Post subject: Reply with quote