Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Unplanned koi babies!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Goldfish, K  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
IchbodDempsey
Regulars

PostPosted: 2004.06.17(Thu)23:56    Post subject: Unplanned koi babies! Reply with quote

A friend of mine recently brought around 20 koi babies to school because he knew I was interested in fish. I didn't really have a choice but to take them or else he would have thrown them away. What he didn't know is that I have no pond, and I'm only experienced in freshwater tropical fish keeping, and I know nothing about pond fish. Iv'e managed to raise them for around two months and they are looking fine, but I'm worried about temperature and what to do with them once they get a little bigger, any advice?
Sahara22588
Regulars

PostPosted: 2004.06.18(Fri)10:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

How big are they now, and what are you keeping them in? If they actually look like koi (and not like fry) and are an inch or two long, you could prolly sell them to the LFS. You could prolly keep a few of your favorites, but I wouldn't suggest keeping them all.

Byez! Very Happy
IchbodDempsey
Regulars

PostPosted: 2004.06.18(Fri)13:04    Post subject: Reply with quote

They are in a tank far too small for them, its a warm water tank with guppy, betta, and molly fry as well-- the tank is only 6 gallons or so, and there are around thirty fish total being kept, the koi are the majority fish and most are starting to get color, but they are still fry, and the biggest might be around an inch long right now. I would like to keep them but I have no tank big enough, and no pond!