Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
10 gallon with 2 gold fish
 Forum Index > Goldfish, K  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jagzia
New Members

PostPosted: 2004.05.23(Sun)16:51    Post subject: 10 gallon with 2 gold fish Reply with quote

I am new at having gold fish. I have them in a ten gallon with a pleco. I feed them peas and I have some zucchini in there for the pleco. I know I need to get them some gold fish food but I have some flakes for now (I know to sock them first before I add them to the water.) Is the 10-gallon tank OK for these two? The surface area is 190 Sq inches. What other vegs woulf be good for the gold fish and is the zucchini OK for the gold fish?

Thanks
jagzia

ps the gold fish are just 1 inch long each.
nonamethefish
Moderators

PostPosted: 2004.05.23(Sun)17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

Though the goldfish and pleco may be small now, this tank is by no means suitable for goldfish in the long term. Goldfish generally reach around 708 inches in a few years, and large ones can reach up to 12 inches. The pleco will reach 2 feet in captivity, but they get even larger in the wild. The pleco may also cause problems by eating the goldfishes slime coat...among other things.

I would reccomend rethinking this setup. Obviously the pleco should go back to the pet store, and if you don't have space, try to return the goldfish too. If you like the general shape and color of goldfish, take a look into some of the smaller barbs. Your tank would work for small fish like white cloud mountain minnows, small tetras, and a small bottom feeder like kuhli loaches.
jagzia
New Members