Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics

HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Noobie help with FOLR
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
groovay
Regulars

PostPosted: 2004.03.13(Sat)4:08    Post subject: Noobie help with FOLR Reply with quote

I've had tropical fishes for around 3 years now but never vertured onto the saltwater parts, this is my first project, and its getting to be very expensive.

What I have so far:
20 gallons(I know small for an amaeture but I picked it because my LFS said it would be OK for a beginer)
flourecent light(no shure how many wats)
UGF came with tank
power head
aqual clear 200
Crush coral and some big chucks of substrate which look also like dead coral

I first cycled it for 2 weeks with no fishes, then went back to ask my LFS if it was OK to add fishes, he said damsel, so I left with 2 damsel to continue my cycle.

Its 2 weeks since I got my 2 yellow talk blue damsel and they seem to be doing good/great I guess. algae seem to be forming but its brown. LFS it was OK just add some snails and hermit crabs, so I left the store with snails and hermit crab.

I was gonna pick up live rock piece from my LFS but they were still decontaminating it and won't get it for another 3 weeks. Nitrite was at a 0.3-0.8 reading yesterday so I change the water now it;s seem to be undetectable.

My gaol is to return the damsel and get only 2 True clown fishes in 2-3 weeks.

Questions:

a) Is at aqua clear 200 and UGF good enough for now until like around 3-4 months when I can afford a skimmer.