Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site

This repository is for research only. New discussions take place in our current Tropical Fish Forum.

Archivarium 2004
Repository of our 2003/2004 Topics
 
  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
can the top of the filter be put in water
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment  Search Board
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
marto
Regulars


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Location: sydney, NSw, Australia

PostPosted: 2005.05.02(Mon)22:01    Post subject: can the top of the filter be put in water Reply with quote

I just topped up my aquarium today & the top of the filter is in watter. when I turned it on there wasnt any bubbles comming out of the pipe, well could this be causing the air supply to stop working. I'm using a canister filter
_________________
Martin
70 gallon tank with 11 various kind of fish
Pond with 3 goldfish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Darkblade48
Regulars


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario. Canada

PostPosted: 2005.05.03(Tue)0:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're using a canister filter, I presume that you're saying that the spray bar is under the water line?

You can always move the spray bar to varying heights to get different amounts of surface agitation depending on how much you want.

Also, I'm not sure what you mean by bubbles coming out of the pipe. Normally, canister filters never shoot out bubbles unless they have air stuck inside the filter in the first place.

Also, as far as I know, filters don't provide an air supply directly, but they provide aeration indirectly through surface agitation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
asaint
New Members


Joined: 15 Apr 2005

PostPosted: 2005.05.03(Tue)7:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you tell us a bit about what filter you are using.

thanks
asaint
_________________
http://www.cloudytanks.com/ - non-commercial aquarium filter review site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hasi
Members


Joined: 16 Apr 2005
Location: Australia - Melbourne

PostPosted: 2005.05.03(Tue)7:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was thinking the same marto if you are talking about the outlet pipe with the holes in it that releases the filter water into the tank?

I have mine submerged but I am considering putting it higher as there will be more surface disturbance and in result more air introduced. It does little water disturbance at the moment but my plants are doing fine they have grown huge...

Anyone else with more knowledge care to comment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
marto
Regulars


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Location: sydney, NSw, Australia

PostPosted: 2005.05.04(Wed)4:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using a Filter Aqua One 104F Maxi Internal Power Filter
_________________
Martin
70 gallon tank with 11 various kind of fish
Pond with 3 goldfish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Darkblade48
Regulars


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario. Canada

PostPosted: 2005.05.05(Thu)18:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

marto wrote:
I'm using a Filter Aqua One 104F Maxi Internal Power Filter


That doesn't sound like a canister filter to me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
marto
Regulars


Joined: 12 Oct 2004
Location: sydney, NSw, Australia

PostPosted: 2005.05.06(Fri)6:16    Post subject: Reply with quote

well power filter. I didn't know what type it was. anyway can the top of the filter be put in water???
_________________
Martin
70 gallon tank with 11 various kind of fish
Pond with 3 goldfish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Darkblade48
Regulars


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario. Canada

PostPosted: 2005.05.07(Sat)0:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

marto wrote:
well power filter. I didn't know what type it was. anyway can the top of the filter be put in water???


In that case, if it's a power filter (as in a hang on the back [HOB] filter) then no, the top of the filter should not be immersed in water.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
supaoopa
Members


Joined: 16 Mar 2005

PostPosted: 2005.05.15(Sun)19:41    Post subject: Reply with quote

marto wrote:
I'm using a Filter Aqua One 104F Maxi Internal Power Filter


It's a internal power filter meaning it is inside the tank. And yes it is fully submersible... the top can be below the water line.

This is the filter you have, right?


_________________
29
10
6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment All times are GMT - 6 Hours Search Board
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L