Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
New Cichlid owner could use a little help.
 Forum Index > Cichlids and Cichlid Tanks  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Randirock92
New Members

PostPosted: 2012.08.23(Thu)18:44    Post subject: New Cichlid owner could use a little help. Reply with quote

OK so I am new to owning Cichlids, I've had sevoral other species of fish but they were all very simple care. I decided I wanted something a little more interesting, so I bought a Bumblebee Cichlid. Now I'll admit I didn't put much reasurch into the species before I got one, but I think I've done alright.The fish seems content and it eats well, and I feel like it has exploded in size. I just have a few questions about some of the behaviors I have seen.

First, Well I guess Its not a behavior... But how can I tell if I have a Male or Female?

Second, I've noticed that the fish moves the gravel in the bottom of the tank around. It picks up the pieces and moves them into a pile against the frount of the tank, untill it has created an area in the back with no gravel. Does anyone know why he does this?

And Third, I would like to introduce more fish or otheraquatic animals to the tank, but I've been told they are very agressive. what would be th best species to try.

If anyone can give me some tips it would be a great help thanks.
kamaruh
New Members

PostPosted: 2012.09.01(Sat)13:26    Post subject: Reply with quote