Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Help with 20g cycling stall?
 Forum Index > Freshwater Basics  Reply to topic   Post new topic
pfwolf
New Members

PostPosted: 2012.05.03(Thu)0:47    Post subject: Help with 20g cycling stall? Reply with quote

So I am a brand newbie who started off a 20g with no clue, now trying to do the right thing. Tank has been up for 5-weeks or so. I've learned more and more as the days and weeks have gone by. Cycle had been progressing with two zebra danios, as per advice from shop "experts". I've added 3 brands of bacteria supplement. I've adden some live plants. I've gotten to the point that my NH3 tests 0ppm to trace; touch of green. Nitrates consistantly test 5-10. Nitrites however are stying high 3-5, deep purple might be off the chart.
I have been waiting for nitrates to clime and nintrites to come down, but it hasn't happened yet(about a week or so).
I added a new Aquaclear power filter and have them both running now. This filter is much better than the aqueon that came with the kit. Doesn't seem to have much area for biofiltration bacteria growth. Just a plastic cage that holds the carbon filter insert. The new Aquaclear has a media tray with sponge pad for coarse filtration, carbon layer, and ceramic disc layer for bacteria. Eventually, I will get rid of the cheap filter and just run this one.
I did a 30% w/c yest and today and the tests don't change amnia 0-trace nitrite way high purple, nitrate 5 ish light orange. Dosn't seem to change no matter what I do. pH is 7.5 added a little bicarb last week as the pH was below 7.