Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Hello from NC, USA, I'm new to site.
 Forum Index > Introduction to this Community  Reply to topic   Post new topic
jacki.r3
Members

PostPosted: 2012.02.14(Tue)21:05    Post subject: Hello from NC, USA, I'm new to site. Reply with quote

Very Happy Hi everybody, I'm jacki and I'm new to this site. My roommate left me with a 10 gallon aquarium and 3 Oscar fish. Said they are no trouble just feed them they take care of themselves. I quickly learned that you can't have 3 Oscars in a 10 gallon tank and so begins my fishkeeping history. I Got a 55 gallon tank and slowly got a new home for 1 fish. Then I found out that I have ammonia coming out of tap and it killed 7 fish overnight. So I really started to find out how to do these poor fish justice. Today I have I male Betta in his own 1 1/2 gal tank with filter and airstone. He's happy and healthy. I just cycled a 10 gallon with a 30-60 gall HOB filter and added 2 Fancy Guppies. I plan to add 4 more in next few weeks as tank allows to keep everyone happy and healthy. I am now cycling a 20 gallon tank with a Whisper 30-60 filter with bio filters and spponges for BB. I am useing Stability and flake food for an ammonia source. I test dauly and looks like the cycling is going well. I recntly rehomes my last Oscar and she is happy healthy and growing. I'm trying to get rid of 55 gallon set up as with my ammonia problem, it is too much work for this disabled retired cop to handle. I have been learning a lot about how to care for these neat little creatures and want what is best for them. Please be patient as I may have some questions along the way. Looking foward to meeting others who share this passion.
Flame Angel
Regulars