Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
New Amazon Tank Help !!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Cichlids and Cichlid Tanks  Reply to topic   Post new topic
xellos
New Members

PostPosted: 2011.12.27(Tue)11:55    Post subject: New Amazon Tank Help !! Reply with quote

This is my first time visiting the forum , maybe thats because I am lost and a bit confused concerning how I want to set up my new 110G tank .
I was thinking of an AMAZON planted tank , and I already have an Oscar in my older Mbuna tank . I have the following questions and would be glad if you help me out .
1) can I use rough sand as my substrate knowing that I want to heavily planted tank ?
2) I already have and Oscar , and agreed on buying a Green Terror and a Pleco , what can I add to this list knowing that I have more than enough filtration ?
3) I was wondering what kinda plant species would do best in my tank with sandy bottom and adequate lighting , should I get fertilizers and would it hurt my fish ?
4) Most Important Question : Can I use a CO2 injection while the fish are in the tank ?? wouldn't it raise the pH above optimal acidic levels ??

Thank you so much ...
diademhill
Advisors

PostPosted: 2011.12.27(Tue)14:21    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oscars are not plant friendly.
You can grow Java fern on wood in an Oscar tank but any plants in the substrate will be dug up.
xellos
New Members

PostPosted: 2011.12.28(Wed)11:36    Post subject: Reply with quote

diademhill wrote:
Oscars are not plant friendly.
You can grow Java fern on wood in an Oscar tank but any plants in the substrate will be dug up.

don't worry dude ill protect the stems with big rocks , even the mighty oscar can't move a 10 pound piece of rock !!
diademhill
Advisors