Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
3 spotted gourami bullies!
 Forum Index > Diseases and Disasters  Reply to topic   Post new topic
oscar1658
New Members

PostPosted: 2011.04.16(Sat)22:03    Post subject: 3 spotted gourami bullies! Reply with quote

hello, seeing as I'm new to tropical fish ill give this a go! Embarassed
I currently have 2 black skirt tetra, two algae eaters and 2 three spotted gourami's in a 54 litre tank, 25% water change every week, treat the water for any chorine and use 'safe water' treatment for them and we feed them on tropical fish flakes, sometimes cucumber and bloodworms too as treats. we're having the problems with the two gourami's with bullying, iv deffinatly identified the bully is a male and the bullied one is a female, she results into hiding away all the time, her 'feelers' underside of her belly one has been half way taken off and she looks pale and her spots are fading towards the male thats bright, she was the same colour as him when we first got her (we'v had them a month or so) but the male hasn't left her alone since! theyre from the same tank at the store too. When she comes out for food he goes and chases her and what seems to nip at her? I'm not sure but I know shes not looking good. Also recently her back fin has been shredded, not sure if its the male again or just the filter thats done this but shes looking very ill, theyre both about 2 inches - male being slightly bigger, I'm open to ideas and correcting any faults I couldve made that you can suggest, I'm very sorry if my descriptions are bad too, again I'm new to this fish buisness Wink so is there any way to help the female at all? thanks x
diademhill
Advisors