Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Thoughts and Questions on African Cichlid Setup
 Forum Index > Cichlids and Cichlid Tanks  Reply to topic   Post new topic
bozistheboss
Regulars

PostPosted: 2011.04.16(Sat)19:54    Post subject: Thoughts and Questions on African Cichlid Setup Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I'm considering setting up a 46g bowfront African cichlid tank. As I'm new to African cichlids, I'd appreciate some tips and advice.

I would like the tank to be a species-specific biotope - I'm considering either Johannis (a harem) or Pseudotropheus Acei. For the substrate, I'll use aragonite sand. I'll probably employ a canister filter (probably rated for ~100g tank, I'm a firm believer in never having enough filtration). I'll likely use a pair of heaters.

For the decor, I have access to some well-sized granite stones from a nearby dismantled railroad (though I'd like to run some tests on these stones to confirm that they're granite). These will be placed on top of egg create to help distribute the weight. I'm also debating whether to find a nice large manzanita wood stump to offer additional hiding places (not exactly African, but I think it'll match the stark nature of the typical Mbuna cichlid tank).

How many fish will I be able to stock in this tank? I've heard that overstocking is better to cut down on aggression, but I'm purposely seeking more peaceful (relatively speaking) Mbunas so that this will not be an issue. The health and wellbeing of the fish is most important.