Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
So much info..can't seem to make fins or tails!
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment  Reply to topic   Post new topic
FishyBusiness516
New Members

PostPosted: 2011.03.26(Sat)22:02    Post subject: So much info..can't seem to make fins or tails! Reply with quote

Hello all! I'm new to being part of a fish forum so please excuse me if I ask any redundant questions. Smile

I recently purchased my very own water testing kit (API brand) and did my first test this evening. I've noticed my fish are a little sluggish and losing some of their color. Here's the stats on my tank before I start asking too many questions:

75 gallon freshwater tank; established about 6 months-discus, plecos, knifefish, tetras (a couple different kinds), angelfish, and cory cats.

Undergravel filter system with two overhang filters as well; no live plants

10-15 gallon water changes with all spring water every two weeks; temp stays around 84-86 degrees (fish seem to like it a little warmer)

Here are my test readings for today:

pH: 6.6/6.8
ammonia: 0ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 160ppm
GH: 214.8ppm or 9 degrees
KH: 161.1ppm or 15 degrees

Now, we've been working on having a large tank for almost 2 years now, asking as many questions as possible with our local fish specialty stores and doing everything we've been asked to do, to the letter.

My questions are as follows:
1. My nitrate seems high...best way to lower?
2. We've been told by our "fish guy" that GH and KH help to maintain proper pH. According to my tests today, the GH and KH are WAY out of healthy range. If I get these things under control, will it help to stabilize my pH (which has been jumping up and down for about 3 weeks now)?