Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Windelov's Fern problem
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Plants and Planted Tanks  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Zowie72
Members

PostPosted: 2011.02.24(Thu)13:25    Post subject: Windelov's Fern problem Reply with quote

Hi, I've been keeping fish for a while now, but I'm very new to a proper planted tank. I've had plants but never knew what they were, but I'm getting into it now and I think I've identified all my older plants.

My problem is with a new Windelov's fern which my LFS gave me for free when I bought my dwarf anubias and Java fern. I have gently tied it to the end of a piece of drift wood and it seemed to be doing alright, no apparent die back and it started putting up two new leaves. However as these leaves have unfurled the top portion has gone translucent and doesn't look right at all. Any ideas on what I've done wrong or what I need to do?

Other flora: Brazilian pennywort, Dwarf Ambulia, Golden Moneywort, Anubias Congensis, a alternanthera (not certain I've got this one right, but probably Amaranth Redroot) and some Variegated Japanese Dwarf Rush (I know it's not really aquatic, but I didn't know that when I bought it).

Fauna: 4 x Kuhli loach, 3 x albino cory, 4 x Harlequin rasbora, 6 x Cherry barb.

Tank info: 100 litre bow fronted, substrate is smooth gravel with a sand section along the front.

Water parameters: ammonia 0ppm, nitrite 0ppm, nitrate 5-10ppm, pH7.0, KH3-4dH. 30% weekly water change and addition of APIs Leaf Zone.

Thank for any help,
Zowie.
Darkblade48
Advisors

PostPosted: 2011.02.24(Thu)14:08    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kind of lighting, and how much lighting do you have? What is your photoperiod?