Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
30G new planted tank
 Forum Index > Plants and Planted Tanks  Reply to topic   Post new topic
paramsethi
New Members

PostPosted: 2011.02.04(Fri)19:50    Post subject: 30G new planted tank Reply with quote

hi everyone..
I am a newbie in fish keeping hobby. I have bough 30G tank around 3 weeks back..and currently its under fishless cycling.
I bought top fin gravel from my lfs..though it was very expensive for 30lbs..it has made my tank water cloudy since day 3 of setting up my tank..(I googled and other people have also reported similar problems with the gravel..) and in case its a bacteria boom..its well over more than 2 weeks old nw..
So I am planning to return the gravel and shift to ash grove play sand sold at home depot...
it will be great if anyone can share their experience with this sand?
I am planning to make it a low light planted set up with:
anubias
flame moss
anarchis
amazon plant
riccia

And for fishes I am planning to keep

4 angels
school of cardinal tetras
4 shrimps
school of rasboras
clown loach
2 snails

Is this a good idea to shift to sand for above fishes and plants? I will keep a top layer of pebbles..

thanks for all the suggestions
tracylloyd1
Members

PostPosted: 2011.02.05(Sat)5:15    Post subject: Re: 30G new planted tank Reply with quote

paramsethi wrote:
hi everyone..
I am a newbie in fish keeping hobby. I have bough 30G tank around 3 weeks back..and currently its under fishless cycling.