Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
New to it all!
 Forum Index > Introduction to this Community  Reply to topic   Post new topic
aqua_pieman
New Members

PostPosted: 2011.01.16(Sun)6:09    Post subject: New to it all! Reply with quote

Hi,
My name is Kieren and I'm in Bideford, North Devon - the only place it can rain 8 days in 7.
Anyways, I'm an IT Tech by trade so if you have any pc problems drop me a private message and I'll see what I can do!

I currently own 2 tanks - one of which I am waiting to colect - and one of which I am trying to sell.

Unfortunately I have lost a vast amount of fish already as I trusted the girl in the pet store who said "Use this Tetra Safe Start and the tank will be habitable by the end of the week" - it appears this was not true and so they replaced my fish immediately - thus still not giving my tank a chance to cycle.

So at present I ony have 3 baby angels and a clown oach - all of which I am gearing uo to lose.. sad times.

My new tank will be being cycled properly regardless of if these fish make it or not as I am now a bit dubious of trusting this kind of product.

anyway - thanks for your time and for giving me the oppurtunity to join so that I can get some hep and advise,.
diademhill
Advisors

PostPosted: 2011.01.16(Sun)7:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can possibly save your fish if you know anyone with a mature tank. It can be goldfish or tropical.

You need some media from their filter or some of the gunge from a mature filter.
If you swish a mature. filthy, filter sponge in some tankwater that mucky water will contain enough bacteria to boost start a new filter.