Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!
 
ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
planted cichlid tank
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Plants and Planted Tanks  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Author Message
aprildawn
New Members


Joined: 27 Oct 2010

PostPosted: 2011.01.10(Mon)13:17    Post subject: planted cichlid tank Reply with quote

Hi, I have a peacock cichlid tank that has very high nitrates. I have nitrates in my tap water. I would like to start a planted tank to help control the nitrate level. any suggestion on plants? I have a sand substrate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darkblade48
Advisors


Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Location: Yokohama, Japan

PostPosted: 2011.01.10(Mon)17:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much nitrate is in your tap water?

You may not have very much success with keeping African cichlids with plants, as they will tend to eat/dig up any kind of leafy plant.

You may, however, have some luck with tougher plants such as Anubias spp., and/or Java Fern.
_________________
Anthony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
diademhill
Advisors


Joined: 18 Apr 2007

PostPosted: 2011.01.11(Tue)2:47    Post subject: Reply with quote

The plants that may survive won't have much impact on the nitrates.
two options - start using RO water and a buffer for water changes or set up an out of tank plant filter if you have the space.
This is basically a sump that works as a hydroponic planter with the aquarium providing the plant nutrients.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aprildawn
New Members


Joined: 27 Oct 2010

PostPosted: 2011.01.11(Tue)7:04    Post subject: Reply with quote

nitrate was 80 ppm but is down to 40 ppm. we have 40 ppm coming out of the tap. I thought that palnts would help with this. we are doing peacock cichlids so there shouldn't be a problem with them destrying the plants. I was thinking about doing anubias & jave fern. good choices?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diademhill
Advisors


Joined: 18 Apr 2007

PostPosted: 2011.01.11(Tue)7:37    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those plants won't have enough impact on the nitrates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aprildawn
New Members


Joined: 27 Oct 2010

PostPosted: 2011.01.11(Tue)7:38    Post subject: Reply with quote

any suggestions on what would help with nitrates?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diademhill
Advisors


Joined: 18 Apr 2007

PostPosted: 2011.01.11(Tue)7:48    Post subject: Reply with quote

aprildawn wrote:
any suggestions on what would help with nitrates?


Quote:
two options - start using RO water and a buffer for water changes or set up an out of tank plant filter if you have the space.
This is basically a sump that works as a hydroponic planter with the aquarium providing the plant nutrients.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aprildawn
New Members


Joined: 27 Oct 2010

PostPosted: 2011.01.11(Tue)8:00    Post subject: Reply with quote

so no plants would work? I don't have the space for a sump.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jsuereth
Regulars


Joined: 22 Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

PostPosted: 2011.01.11(Tue)9:39    Post subject: Reply with quote

A random idea of something you could do instead of a sump... You could put a tank divider in place. If the divider was lower than the water level, and you had a way to ensure flow between sections... You could then set up this 'refugium' in that area of the tank with a lot of plants to help take in nitrates.

A second idea would be to set up an algae tank scrubber to use algae instead of plants to consume the nitrates. If you don't have room for a sump, you probably don't have room for an ATS. These are far less attractive than plants anyway.

I think @diademhill listed out your options pretty well. It's an unfortunate scenario.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diademhill
Advisors


Joined: 18 Apr 2007

PostPosted: 2011.01.11(Tue)11:18    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use a hydroponic house plant filter instead of a second aquarium.

Spider plants & peace lilies grow well and if you can get the levels right you can grow them near a window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Plants and Planted Tanks All times are GMT - 6 Hours Reply to topic   Post new topic
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L