Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Help Needed on air pump - new to fish tanks
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment  Reply to topic   Post new topic
raineybc
New Members

PostPosted: 2010.10.25(Mon)11:56    Post subject: Help Needed on air pump - new to fish tanks Reply with quote

Hi All,
My wife and I just moved into a new house where we inherited a 50 gallon freshwater tank equipped with a built in under gravel air pumping system.

Forgive my elementary language, but I'm very new to this. We have a Powerhead 402 on the side that blows air out into the tank and a Powerhead 802 on the side that I guess somehow pumps air or water through the system. Guessing here.

I just spent the last couple hours cleaning the tank, so I had the water virtually emptied from the tank, then refilled it completely. When I turned eveything back on, the pump was no longer blowing bubbles into the water. Any idea why?

Also note, each of these units has levers on it for adjusting air flow I think. I messed with the 402 that blows air into the water and may not have set it back correctly, but it was already not working anyways. Any help would be appreciated. The only fish in the tank now is one of those sucker fish algae eaters.
katienaha
Regulars

PostPosted: 2010.10.25(Mon)12:17    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not entirely sure, I don't know much about powerheads, I don't use them.

Check all the seals, sometimes when I turn my HOB filter off, it takes some priming to get it to work again.

Welcome to the forum, and enjoy your inheritance!

I hope you used water conditioner when you refilled the tank. Can you take pictures of some of your equipment and the fish? It will likely help us help you better.