Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Light essential for liverock?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Reply to topic   Post new topic
KMV021203
New Members

PostPosted: 2010.08.12(Thu)15:53    Post subject: Light essential for liverock? Reply with quote

To make a long story brief I have been caring for a 55G FW tank for about seven years. I am CYCLING my first 29G SW tank. This explains my wacky water parameters. I just got my skimmer this afternoon and will be setting it up tomorrow.

Now to my question. I am interested in a FOWLR tank. I was curious if light is essential to keeping live rock...well...alive? I currently don't have a lighting apparatus or live rock for this tank at the moment. I was hoping to buy the live rock now to help with the cycling and the light set up in a few weeks. I have also searched the forums and found no definitive answers.

Also, this is my general set up and all known parameters. All equipment is recycled except the new skimmer and test kit. The tank has been set up with live sand/heat/filtration since July 16th 2010.

29 Gallon tank
Hydor THEO 200W heater
Marineland: Penguin 350
20lbs Ocean Direct Caribbean Live Sand
Coralife Superskimmer 65G
Test equipment: API Saltwater Master Test Kit

Specific Gravity: 1.02ish
pH: 7.8
Ammonia: .25
Nitrite: .75
Nitrate: 30

Last edited by KMV021203 on 2010.08.15(Sun)10:03; edited 2 times in total
Osprey
Advisors

PostPosted: 2010.08.13(Fri)16:05    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. Lighting isn't necessary for maintaining live rock- it's just for looks. Lots of light-sensitive critters can handle an extended dark period.