Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Vaccines/biology/other interesting medical related topics
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Forum Index > Aqua Lounge  Reply to topic   Post new topic
katienaha
Regulars

PostPosted: 2010.08.12(Thu)15:16    Post subject: Vaccines/biology/other interesting medical related topics Reply with quote

SO, here's my beef with vaccinations. I agree with them (mostly).

However, with some of them, sure, they work, but they are not always necessary for everyone. Take the H1N1 vaccine. I did not get it, I work in the health care field, and often with medically delicate people.

I washed my hands at LEAST once an hour while on the job, at home, etc. Yes, I had chapped hands (carried around lotion once that started happening), but I also washed them when I felt they were contaminated (ie, I just went grocery shopping).

I did not get this flu. Actually, last winter, I did not even get a common cold. I actually havent been sick at all since May 2009. I got one flu shot in my life, and it was before nursing school.

I also work with people with developmental disabilities. Many of these people have autism, and there are many parents out there who will swear up and down that vaccines caused their child's autism. In my opinion, I feel that it isnt the vaccine's fault, but it is the body's ability to rid itself of the mercury/metals in the vaccine. I understand that mercury poisoning has similar symptoms to the onset of autism in a 2 year old. This scares me. It doesn't mean that when I have children they will not get vaccinated, the pros outweigh the cons, but I wonder why there is mercury in there in the first place. There must be a better solution.