Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
fish for sw 10 gallon nano
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Reply to topic   Post new topic
ak dylpickles
Regulars

PostPosted: 2010.03.04(Thu)9:56    Post subject: fish for sw 10 gallon nano Reply with quote

what sw fish can I keep in my 10 gallon nano? I have lots of experience. So I can handle a 10 gallon nano so please don't tell me I shouldn't.
diademhill
Advisors

PostPosted: 2010.03.04(Thu)10:03    Post subject: Reply with quote

None.

Wait until you can maintain a freshwater environment before killing marine fish.
Mike612
Exemplars

PostPosted: 2010.03.05(Fri)13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have no experience with saltwater fish, a 30 gallon is the minimum tank size to keep. A 10 gallon really isn't ideal because a small chemical problem will spread much faster in a small environment like a 10 gallon. 30 gallons is also small in my opinion but it's more error proof.

In a 30 gallon, you would be able to keep 2 or 3 small fish. A pair of Ocellaris Clownfish and possibly a Royal Gramma come to mind. A 10 gallon aquarium is not suitable for fish. A 10 gallon can really only support a few invertebrates, ideally a shrimp and a couple of snails, but even that is not recommended.

If you want to start a marine tank, please purchase a tank that is at least 30 gallons. I also suggest you read "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist" by Rob Fenner. http://www.amazon.com/Conscientious-Marine-Aquarist-Commonsense-Successful/dp/1890087025 This book details an ideal marine setup and provides descriptions about all the different fish families available to the hobby.

Good luck.
Topper
Advisors