Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Is this new set-up OK?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Reply to topic   Post new topic
sandsage
New Members

PostPosted: 2009.04.23(Thu)22:33    Post subject: Is this new set-up OK? Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I'm a total newbie, but have been reading for a while now and feel ready to at least ask a question. This is what I'm thinking about setting up - please let me know what you think:

Fish Only with Live Rock
29 gallon rectangular tank
100 watt heater (is 50 watt OK? - that is coming free with the tank)
under 1 inch live sand (dry from fish store)
30lbs rock - (how much has to be live? I would like to use filler as much as possible to save money, but I'm saving a lot on the tank so might do all live if it's worth it)
lighting - whatever is coming with the tank, it seems it doesn't matter much and I should actually keep it to a minimum.
and of course, hydrometer and the special salt and dechlorinator and some buckets

Now, here's where I get more confused
Filter - do I need one? Powerheads?
Protein Skimmer - Fishboy is very big on these, and it sounds like it will save me some water changes, so I'm leaning towards getting one
UV Sterilizer - ditto
Or is this fancy stuff going overboard?

My plan is to keep a pair of captive-bred fake clownfish (nemo), plus one damselfish that I will use to cycle the tank and then keep on assuming it survives me.

If I get the skimmer and sterilizer, will that cut down on the need for water changes? How much? Do these items, plus the live rock and sand, make a filter unnecessary?