Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
DIY 50-60g plywood tank and aquarium stand
 Forum Index > Do It Yourself (DIY)  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Travellyr
Members

PostPosted: 2009.04.01(Wed)21:26    Post subject: DIY 50-60g plywood tank and aquarium stand Reply with quote

I am building an aquarium stand for an aquarium that doesn't exist. Why am I doing this? I'm an art student taking a furniture-building class, the assignment is to build a table, and an aquarium stand is what I'm most interested in. Happily for me, my instructor is fascinated by the challenges involved in building an art piece that still satisfies the demands placed on an aquarium stand (weight, room for all the STUFF, etc). It's a bit backwards, to build the stand first, so what I'm having to do is design them both (tank and stand) at once.

So! Critique, please. I'm suffering from too many choices.

Tentative purpose
The tank would be 30"x20"20" freshwater planted (meaning I'd be building a custom flourescent hood, eventually, too). I like gourami of all sorts, tetras (neon and emperor), danios, kuhli and dojo loaches, glass catfish, shrimp, brilliant rasboras, and my mother adores cories and black mollies, so those are the sorts of fish that would be in there. NOT ALL OF THEM! That's just the short-list of prospective inhabitants over the lifetime of the tank, and the fish whose needs I'm thinking about when I think of tank dimensions. My current fish (in profile) would most likely be the first ones to move in.

Why build the tank?