Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
cost of saltwater setup?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Reply to topic   Post new topic
dave13
Members

PostPosted: 2008.08.07(Thu)1:28    Post subject: cost of saltwater setup? Reply with quote

g'day everyone Razz . I'm considering setting up a saltwater tank. I was wondering if anyone could give an estimate of how much it would cost me. if I was already to own a 3 ft tank setup with a fluval 204 external filter and heater and light that I use for freshwater. how much more would I be in need of spending? I'd like to have live coral and I assume I'll need a protein skimmer and also requirements to keep the salt levels at a premium. as you can tell I'm new to saltwater but I will be taking my time setting it up. I'd be keen on starting with something fairly simple like clown fish. I've had about 5 years+ keeping freshwater fish including discus.
the tank dimensions are 3 foot x 18 x 18. thanks for any help advice, it would be greatly appreciated.
cheers,
dave Smile
FloridaBoy
Moderators

PostPosted: 2008.08.07(Thu)7:25    Post subject: Reply with quote

With your experience you will be fine, your research will lead to success.
Overall cost is variable, depends on type of corals and animals you want, see Myths no. 7 and 15 here:
http://www.aquahobby.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=24970

Soft coral systems
dave13
Members

PostPosted: 2008.08.07(Thu)23:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey mate. thanks heaps for the information. it's helped a lot and saved me a few headaches and some time. cheers for the help.
FloridaBoy
Moderators

PostPosted: 2008.08.07(Thu)23:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

My pleasure and best wishes for your success...
dave13
Members