Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
DIY Refugium with an aquaclear 110??
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Marine Equipment and Chemistry  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Atlantis
Members

PostPosted: 2007.02.24(Sat)1:52    Post subject: DIY Refugium with an aquaclear 110?? Reply with quote

Hey, I am looking to build up a refugium to growth some macroalgae, I was thinking about using my aquaclear 110 as a hob refugium. I'm also thinkin about removing my fluval 104 and let the natural filtration doing hes job.(I'm not gonna remove my skimmer)
Is it a good idea? Maybe it pump a bit 2 much gph? I'm new to refugium so..ill need your help!

Tx!
Dave
Pete Harcoff
Advisors

PostPosted: 2007.02.24(Sat)2:10    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is a good idea. I'm in the process of doing the same thing, although I'm using the outflow from my skimmer so the flow is a bit fast for a refugium.
Atlantis
Members

PostPosted: 2007.02.24(Sat)2:17    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool cool, yea the outflow of a skimmer is a good idea, HIGH OXYG water! Probably a good thing for a successful fuge.

Hey, how much " the sand bed should be in the fuge? Aprox 2 inch I guess.
And where a live, I don't think lfs selling macroalgae, as I said, I'm new to this and wonder if I have to put macro to get macro or it can growth by itself?
Pete Harcoff
Advisors

PostPosted: 2007.02.24(Sat)11:20    Post subject: Reply with quote

1-2 inches is probably good. I have about 1.5" in mine.

If you have live rock, you'll probably get some macro growing on it eventually. It took my tank about 4-5 months, but then I had all this macro algae growing everywhere (too much in fact).
Pete Harcoff
Advisors