Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Disease or did I poison them with Peas?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Diseases and Disasters  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Mormegil
Members

PostPosted: 2007.01.22(Mon)10:45    Post subject: Disease or did I poison them with Peas? Reply with quote

I've never had a fish disease. But I'm still pretty new at this, so please bare with me.

Is this Ich?

(full size here: http://farm1.static.flickr.com/122/366005168_35e3fce7e8_b.jpg )

Here's the whole story, that I wrote before taking the picture, if anybody cares:

I've got a 10 gallon tank, where I've had small happy fish in for months (2 blue platies, 3 neon tetras, 2 upside-down catfish and 2 otocinclus). At one point, we noticed we couldn't find the upside-down catfish, and assumed it had died and got eaten (as what happened to our 2 ghost shrimp). So I went to Petsmart and got a new upside-down catfish (so the surviver wouldn't be lonely). That was on the 10th of this month.

Turns out the other catfish was just really good at hiding (so now we have 10 fish).

On the 17th, I decided to try my hand at very very simple planting - so I got a small Anubias. When I added it, I also added some aquarium plant food (as per directions). While there the PetSmart person mentioned that peas make good fishfood - without mentioning that I should husk them first. I also fed them an unhusked pea.