Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!
 
ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Ammonia throws off pH tests?
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Author Message
Liszie
Exemplars


Joined: 22 Oct 2006
Location: Lower Mainland, BC

PostPosted: 2007.01.15(Mon)16:15    Post subject: Ammonia throws off pH tests? Reply with quote

I have a 55g tank cycling. Ammonia levels are >5 mg/l, and I went to test pH, just for kicks I suppose, and it gave me a colour that is not on the card?
I have a tetratest laborett, and the colour it gave me is a dark periwinkle, completely different than the purple that is 10.0 but way "purpler" than the blue that is 9.0. Does this mean it's in between or is the test thrown off because of the high ammonia levels?
Liszie
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
fishlover888
Regulars


Joined: 20 Dec 2006

PostPosted: 2007.01.15(Mon)21:06    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe it is your test kit? You may do a control test with some water which you know the pH. Also, try to take the tank water and tap water to your LFS. Most of them will be glad to do a test for you too.
_________________
125 g discus tank 13 discus, 5 Sterbai cory, 3 clown loaches, 1 Albino BN pH 6.3 50% WC x2/wk
2 g nano tank 3 Danio, pH 7.6 80% WC/ 2 days
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Liszie
Exemplars


Joined: 22 Oct 2006
Location: Lower Mainland, BC

PostPosted: 2007.01.15(Mon)21:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, sorry. Embarassed I forgot to mention that I also tested the water in my 20 gallon, which I know to be 8.0, and it came out normal. Same with my tap water.

Liszie
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kskipper
Members


Joined: 31 Dec 2006
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: 2007.01.25(Thu)18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote

Liszie,
I just saw this post of yours. Yes, ammonia throws off pH tests. I confirmed this with the R&D lab where I work.

kskipper
_________________
29G with 6 Zebra Danios.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Liszie
Exemplars


Joined: 22 Oct 2006
Location: Lower Mainland, BC

PostPosted: 2007.01.25(Thu)19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it because ammonia itself is quite alkaline or because something about the ammonia makes the test not work?
Liszie
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Chemistry and Equipment All times are GMT - 6 Hours Reply to topic   Post new topic
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L