Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!
 
ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
New to site, first aquarium
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Photo Album  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Author Message
Magnum V8
New Members


Joined: 24 Dec 2006

PostPosted: 2006.12.24(Sun)20:28    Post subject: New to site, first aquarium Reply with quote

Hey everyone! I'm new here.

This is my first real attempt at keeping fish. The tank is a 20g long. Its cycling now, or at least I hope it is. I've got the Emperor 280 bio-wheel filter, and yes, the water level is a little low in that picture. Its been filled since. A barb (not sure which kind, transplanted from a bowl) and 3 zebra danios are the current inhabitants. If you can't tell, all the plants are artificial. But, in the future I think I'm going to put all live plants in there. When I do that, I'd like to try to make it a little more dense. I'd also like to put in a rock hideout. This is all in hopes of keeping some rams and a couple other dwarf cichlids.

Any thoughts, suggestions? Have a merry, merry Christmas!

John





Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RaiderFan92
Regulars


Joined: 12 Jun 2006

PostPosted: 2006.12.24(Sun)20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know about putting rams and more dwarf cichlids in a 20 gallon, along with the barb and the danios. Might get a little over stocked.

But other then that, looks good! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tkipfer
Regulars


Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: 2006.12.24(Sun)20:45    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks good. I like the driftwood setup. if the tank is cycling fish shouldn't be in there though and not that many. how long has it been since the tank started cycling?
_________________
"I am a wildlife warrior, and I will fight, fight to the death for wildlife." - Steve Irwin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Magnum V8
New Members


Joined: 24 Dec 2006

PostPosted: 2006.12.24(Sun)20:55    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you've confused me a little. To answer the question, the tank's been running for only a day and a half. But, how can the tank cycle without waste from fish? Am I wrong, fish waste -> ammonia -> nitrite -> nitrate? Sorry, I'm new to all of this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blake
Regulars


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Location: St. Johns, Arizona, USA

PostPosted: 2006.12.24(Sun)21:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

more and more people are using fishless cycling by adding their own ammonia and not using the fish this way fish arent harmed by the taxic amounts of amonia are produced
_________________
people who don't love fish are crazy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Magnum V8
New Members


Joined: 24 Dec 2006

PostPosted: 2006.12.24(Sun)21:14    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does that work faster?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blake
Regulars


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Location: St. Johns, Arizona, USA

PostPosted: 2006.12.24(Sun)21:31    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not really sure if it does I allways add cycle to my tanks and it works faster I've done both and can't remember wich is faster
_________________
people who don't love fish are crazy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
sepgundamrg
Regulars


Joined: 18 Dec 2006
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: 2006.12.24(Sun)22:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may not be faster, but it is cheaper for you and safer for the fish.
_________________
My tanks
http://www.aquahobby.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=55885
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
LunarFlame
Advisors


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: 2006.12.25(Mon)7:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

In most cases, fishless cycling is faster and produces a more stable cycle than when cycling with fish.

Beautiful tank by te way Smile
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger Yahoo Messenger
Magnum V8
New Members


Joined: 24 Dec 2006

PostPosted: 2006.12.25(Mon)11:25    Post subject: Reply with quote

I certainly don't want to harm the fish. Would doing a large volume water change keep the cycle going and at the same time keep the fish from dying? I did an ammonia test this morning and the result was .50 ppm. I'm not too sure what that means. The research I did revealed that the ammonia level should/would peak, then begin to drop, and likewise with the nitrite. So, with the .50 ppm ammonia reading, should I do a water change now, or would that interrupt the cycle?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
 Forum Index > Photo Album All times are GMT - 6 Hours Reply to topic   Post new topic
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Jump to:  
  You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2008 phpBB Group

oF <=> oC in <=> cm G <=> L