Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
5.5 gallon nano planted Journal (updated 02/12/2007)
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Forum Index > Photo Album  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Pete Harcoff
Advisors

PostPosted: 2006.07.29(Sat)0:55    Post subject: 5.5 gallon nano planted Journal (updated 02/12/2007) Reply with quote

This is my first attempt at a nano planted tank. Previously, I'd set up a 48 gallon freshwater and a 56 gallon saltwater. It's something else to work with a much smaller setup.

Specs:

5.5 gallon Perfecto aquarium
Aquaclear 70 filter
25W Theo submersible heater
Coralife mini aqualight (2x9W)
9W Hagen compact flourescent fixture

Here's a shot of the overall tank. I'm currently building a hood which will house the lighting fixtures. The driftwood has stained the water yellow.

Here's a closeup of the filter. The heater is submerged with a heater guard around it, to prevent it from touching the edges of the filter. You can't quite see the guard in this shot, though. I also stuck the filter sponge in front of the outflow, to soft it.

To make the filter work on such a small tank, I needed to mod in the intake tube. I used a piece of flexible plastic and an intake filter from an Aquaclear 30 filter. I used a piece of sponge and aquarium silicon to seal off the edges. The end result is that even using the AQ 70 impeller, it puts out a lot less flow than normal. In fact, I think it even puts out less flow than my AQ 20 on my 10 gallon QT.

These are the lighting fixtures:

And the hood in progress:

Finally, a couple shots of the aquascape. I was inspired by Filipe Oliveira's "Across the River" tank, so I decided to try something similar.