Aquarium & Tropical Fish Site
Tropical Fish Forums
Aquarium fishkeeping around the world!

ChatChat  HelpHelp   Search BoardSearch Board   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Check your private messagesCheck your private messages   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 
Little help, please.
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 Forum Index > Saltwater Basics  Reply to topic   Post new topic
Aquablue
Regulars

PostPosted: 2006.06.02(Fri)12:50    Post subject: Little help, please. Reply with quote

OK. I've talked to my mom and she's gona let me get a saltwater. I've been researching for about 3-4 months and have a good idea of what I'm going to be doing. We're most likely going to get either a 55 or 75 gallon. I do have a few questions though.

1. For stocking I had in mind for the 55: 1 pair Ocellaris Clowns, 2 Purple Firefish, 3 Longfin Fairy Wrasse (these are reef safe wrasse), 1 Coral Beauty Angel, and 2 Skunk Cleaner Shrimp. For the 75: 1 pair of Ocellaris Clowns, 2 Purple Firefish, 5 Longfin Fairy Wrasse, 1 Coral Beauty Angel, and 3 Skunk Cleaner Shrimp. My question is, would this be okay? Would the tank be overstocked?

2. We have a 15 gallon we're going to use as a quarntine tank. I planed on putting a little plant pot (new, not used) in it with the LS. In the quarntine, should I use a filter or protien skimmer, or both? Would I be able to get away with just a filter or protien skimmer?

Any help would be very much appreciated. If I think of anything more, I'll post it on here. Thanks for any help.
Aquablue
Regulars

PostPosted: 2006.06.02(Fri)12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh yeah, I forgot.

3. How much live rock should I use for the main tank? Would I need to put some LR in the quarntine tank, or could I get away with not using any?
Mike612
Exemplars

PostPosted: 2006.06.02(Fri)13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should use approximately the same amount of live rock as you have gallons. In this case, 55 or 75 lbs of live rock.